About Scandinavia

Scandinavia or Scandinawa, in Latin characters (Scandinavia): is a peninsula located in the north of the European continent and consists of the following kingdoms, Denmark, Norway and Sweden. Sometimes it includes other countries, such as Finland, Iceland and the Faroe Islands, due to historical and cultural proximity and cultural ties that link those countries with the main Scandinavian countries of Denmark, Norway and Sweden. Linguistic studies and cultural research have shown that the term Scandinavia extends to all the areas that speak the old Nordic language and where the North Germanic languages now prevail. In this respect, the term Scandinavia goes as far as to include both Iceland and the Faroe Islands. From a historical and cultural point of view too, we can consider Finland as part of Scandinavia or Fennoscandia, as it is generally called when referring to Finland’s long history as a part of Sweden. The term Scandinavia applies to countries united by many common denominators, although it is substituted by another term, i.e. the Northern Countries, to denote Norway, Sweden and Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Finland (including Åland) and Iceland because they lie in the north of the European continent.